So I was playing against a deck that fed off of the graveyard. The opponent had creatures with undying, and creatures in the graveyard. According to him, creatures that enter the battlefield from the graveyard don't have summoning sickness. Is that true? He used both undying and cards like animate dead and zombify. I can see undying not having summoning sickness, but those other cards I find a bit more out of reach. If someone could clearly explain if and how this works, that would help greatly.
Private Mod Note ( ): Rollback Post to Revision RollBack Check out my nerd centric podcast at http://www.t***uysonecut.libsyn.com #2 Jul 30, 2012So I was playing against a deck that fed off of the graveyard. The opponent had creatures with undying, and creatures in the graveyard. According to him, creatures that enter the battlefield from the graveyard don't have summoning sickness. Is that true? He used both undying and cards like animate dead and zombify. I can see undying not having summoning sickness, but those other cards I find a bit more out of reach. If someone could clearly explain if and how this works, that would help greatly.
They still have summoning sickness, it doesn't matter how they enter. Only if the ability specifically gives them haste would this not be the case (like Unearth).
You have to control a creature at the beginning of your turn for summoning sickness not to apply. This is true even of things like Mind Control, you can't use abilities with in their cost or attack with it the turn you gain control.
(Note this is why "summoning sickness" is not really applicable, maybe we should start calling it control sickness? heh)
Last edited by subx : Jul 30, 2012 Private Mod Note ( ): Rollback Post to Revision RollBack Level 1 Judge #3 Jul 30, 2012All creatures have summoning sickness unless they have been under your control since the beginning of your most recent turn.
It does not matter where it has come from, unless the creature has haste either naturally or granted it by the spell or ability that put it on the battlefield you will not be able to attack with it or use and abilities with t in its cost.
Private Mod Note ( ): Rollback Post to Revision RollBackEvery normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
- H.L Mencken
I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity
All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
- Edgar Allan Poe
So I was playing against a deck that fed off of the graveyard. The opponent had creatures with undying, and creatures in the graveyard. According to him, creatures that enter the battlefield from the graveyard don't have summoning sickness. Is that true? He used both undying and cards like animate dead and zombify. I can see undying not having summoning sickness, but those other cards I find a bit more out of reach. If someone could clearly explain if and how this works, that would help greatly.
A card has summoning sickness (cannot tap or use abilities) if it has not been under your control since the beginning of your last turn.
So cards reanimated from a graveyard DO NOT have haste unless otherwise specified (i.e. Strangleroot Geist, unearth)
Private Mod Note ( ): Rollback Post to Revision RollBack Quote from PhyrexianExileI use the Duels Of The Planeswalkers layout, though I'm right-handed and keep my deck and GY to the left. I dare you to ask me how tempting it is to hold flying creatures in a floating pattern over the table.
#7 Jul 31, 2012A card has summoning sickness (cannot tap or use abilities) if it has not been under your control since the beginning of your last turn.
So cards reanimated from a graveyard DO NOT have haste unless otherwise specified (i.e. Strangleroot Geist, unearth)
All cards have summoning sickness but it only prevents creatures from tapping the turn they are played.
Private Mod Note ( ): Rollback Post to Revision RollBack #8 Jul 31, 2012All cards have summoning sickness but it only prevents creatures from tapping the turn they are played.
I'm not sure what you are trying to say here, but "only prevents creatures from tapping the turn they are played" is untrue, as it also applies to a creature that you gained control of.
Private Mod Note ( ): Rollback Post to Revision RollBack Level 1 Judge #9 Jul 31, 2012A card has summoning sickness (cannot tap or use abilities) if it has not been under your control since the beginning of your last turn.
So cards reanimated from a graveyard DO NOT have haste unless otherwise specified (i.e. Strangleroot Geist, unearth)
This is not entirely true. A creature that has summoning sickness can be tapped (e.g. convoke), it just can't be used to pay for costs that ACTUALLY include the T or Symbols - and it can't attack.
Quote from FellintoOblivionAll cards have summoning sickness but it only prevents creatures from tapping the turn they are played.
This is just plain wrong. See Comprehensive Rules:
212.3f A creature’s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can’t be played unless the creature has been under its controller’s control since the start of his or her most recent turn. A creature can’t attack unless it has been under its controller’s control since the start of his or her most recent turn. This rule is informally called the “summoning sickness” rule. Ignore this rule for creatures with haste (see rule 502.5).
A creature has summoning sickness not only during your turn, but also during your opponents turns if you didn't control it at the beginning of your last turn. This is also true after control-changing-effects and effects that put creatures onto the battlefield from anywhere without actually casting them - all that matters is wether you controlled them at the beginning of your last turn.
Private Mod Note ( ): Rollback Post to Revision RollBackCockatrice is still going strong over at http://www.woogerworks.com[/B]
#10 Jul 31, 2012Strangleroot Geist having haste would mean a lot less if entering the battlefield from the graveyard meant no summoning sickness. Your friend is incorrect about undying, since creatures without haste will always have summoning sickness unless an affect says otherwise.
Private Mod Note ( ): Rollback Post to Revision RollBack Not playing much these days. hope all is well in the MtG communityI would think that if you had a creature at the start of a turn (therefore no summoning sickness) and it goes into the graveyard and you return it back to the battlefield in the SAME turn, it would not have summoning sickness because you had that creature at the start of your turn.
But if that creature has been in the graveyard at the start of your turn and you bring it back, summoning sickness applies.
EDIT:
Just read the comprehensive rule on Summoning sickness, Rule 302.6, and it says that a creature has to be under "its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began" or it suffers from summoning sickness.
So I guess that means it doesn't matter if you had control of a creature at the start of your turn and return it. Because it going into the graveyard breaks the continuity of your control over that creature, even if it enters back into the battlefield in the same turn, it still suffers from summoning sickness.